Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Iceland World Cup Squad announced, see full List of Iceland Players for Russia 2018 World Cup

Spread the love

Iceland World Cup Squad has been announced. Iceland coach, Heimir Hallgrimsson has named his 23 man squad for World Cup ties against Nigeria, Argentina and Croatia. At least seven players from the British league made it to the squad selected by Heimir Hallgrimsson.

Iceland World Cup Squad for Russia 2018
Iceland World Cup Squad for Russia 2018

The players includes Kári árnason (Aberdeen), Hörður Björgvin Magnússon (Bristol City), Aron Einar Gunnarsson (Cardiff), Birkir Bjarnason (Aston Villa), Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson (Burnley), Gylfi þór Sigurðsson (Everton) and Jón Daði Böðvarsson (Reading).

Iceland World Cup Squad released is most of the players that set Iceland to the Group I in UEFA World Cup qualifiers.

Iceland has made history by qualifying for World Cup for the first time in the history of UEFA World Cup qualifiers, with a population of 340,000 and a pool of only around 100 professional footballers, Iceland made history as the smallest country to have qualified for the FIFA World Cup.

According to Heimir Hallgrimsson, our vision is to progress from tough World Cup Group D, meanwhile Iceland World Cup Squad will face Argentina, Nigeria and Croatia in Group D matches. He further described his opponent in the FIFA World Cup in Russia as an Experienced and with World class Players; he passed confidence that as long as we qualified we shouldn’t fear any opponent after that.

Iceland World Cup Squad will face Argentina in their first leg match on June 16th at Moscow (Spartak) by 2pm.

View the full Iceland World Cup Squad for Russia 2018 below


  • Hannes Þór Halldórsson
  • Rúnar Alex Rúnarsson
  • Frederik Schram


  • Kári Árnason
  • Ari Freyr Skúlason
  • Ragnar Sigurðsson
  • Hörður Björgvin Magnússon
  • Birkir Már Sævarsson
  • Sverrir Ingi Ingason
  • Hólmar Örn Eyjólfsson


  • Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
  • Birkir Bjarnason
  • Arnór Ingvi Traustason
  • Emil Hallfreðsson
  • Gylfi Sigurðsson
  • Ólafur Ingi Skúlason
  • Rúrik Gíslason
  • Samúel Kári Friðjónsson
  • Aron Einar Gunnarsson


  • Alfreð Finnbogason
  • Jón Daði Böðvarsson
  • Björn Bergmann Sigurðarson
  • Albert Guðmundsson

Below is the list of teams in each Group for Russia 2018:

Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay

Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran

Group C: France, Australia, Peru, Denmark

Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria

Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia

Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea

Group G: Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England

Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan

Iceland World Cup Squad for Russia 2018

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.